Follow

Importing your recipient lists

You can upload existing recipient data into our system. Before you do this please carefully read our anti spam guidelines Please note that imported data might have to be verified by CleverReach before you can use it for email distribution.

Lists in .csv or .txt format can be uploaded easily and quickly. Doubles or faulty addresses are removed from the import automatically. Please always use UTF-8 to encode your import files so that special characters are imported correctly. If you are converting the import list from an Excel file be sure to check that the column headers do not contain any breaks. You can also manually import data through [Copy & add] or have it imported or updated automatically in regular intervals through [Load from URL/FTP].


Creating groups

First create the respective group in your account. Under [Groups] you can manage existing groups and add new ones.

To begin with a new group only include the field Email. Of course you can add further fields if needed. Find more information here.


How do I import data?

Within the group click on [Add Data] > [Import]. On the next screen you can select between [Upload file], [Copy & add], and [Load from URL/FTP]:

After you have made your selection you will see the assignment of column headers to database fields. On this page you decide how the data from your import file is matched with the database fields in this recipient group. On the left side you will find all available fields for your group and on the right side you can select the column headers from your import file. Importing the email address is mandatory. All additional data (e.g. first name, last name) is optional. Should there be no fields on the left of your screen you will need to create them (find more information here).

On the left you will see the database fields of the recipient group. In the drop down selection next to the fields you can choose which data will be associated with which field. If your file contains no data for a certain field you can insert an alternate value that then will be added for every recipient.

Through the categories [Signup information] respectively [Order information] you can import further data. Under Signup information you can add your own dates, e.g date of registration/activation. If you don’t make a selection (recommended) the date of import will be added. Should you select to import your own date make sure to import a registration date AND an activation date since otherwise the recipients will be marked as inactive. If the date field is not displayed your import file probably only contains the field email and this step is simply skipped.


Now you can decide what to do with the list to be imported to the system. Select one of the following options:

Add

New data is added. If a contact already exists he will not be changed.


Update & Add

New data is added and existing data is updated. Unsubscribed contacts remain inactive.


Unsubscribe

The recipients will be deactivated. Non-existing data sets will be imported as inactive recipients.


Replace

All existing data sets are first deleted entirely and then all data from the new list is added. Please note that all information (clicks / opens / unsubscribes) of all recipients will be lost in this step.


Delete

All data sets contained in the import file will be deleted from the recipient group. All information as per your import list will be lost including opens, clicks, unsubscribes etc.


Important notes:

  1. Should [Replace], [Delete] and [Unsubscribe] not be available your recipient group is protected. Go to [Settings] > [General] within your group and turn off Delete protection.
  2. For security reasons the functionalities Replace, Delete and Unsubscribe are not available within a group if you have sent an email to that group within the last 3 days.
  3. If special characters are not imported correctly there is probably an encoding issue with your import file. Make sure that the file is UTF-8 encoded.
  4. Before an import is started your group will always be protected automatically if you do not turn Delete protection off (find more information here).
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments